Arm chair doctors

compdr

Doctors go to school continually to add to their knowledge and learn about new findings, which is one reason they get annoyed when we become arm chair doctors for ourselves.

I understand their concern if and when we might misdiagnose our illness, however, I am a firm believer in being responsible for our health.

As my doctor once told me, I have more time than he does to search online for hours reading about remedies, rx’s, symptoms and ailments (said in a nice way, not condescending.)

I am an arm chair unlicensed doctor for myself and my kids.  Proudly so.  In my search for a long standing health issue I discovered what the problem was and the solution.  The news was shared with my new doctor (who is a woman) who was happy that I took the initiative to find my own answers.

Every body is suppose to have the same requirements and function the same, roughly.  Governments provide guidelines of what they believe is best for all of us, the problem is we aren’t all the same.

Case in point, it is recommended to eat whole grains, whole wheat, it provides energy and needed vitamins and minerals.

But not for me or anyone else who is gluten intolerant or has Celiac disease.  My life had been spent eating what I was told was healthy which turned out to be the cause of many problems.  I stopped eating gluten and within 3 days felt amazing and the symptoms eventually went away.

On a side note, if you are one of the thousands who is chronically tired, who has to take a nap in the afternoon or pound an energy at 2 o’clock to stay awake, I would suggest you look into gluten intolerance to learn about it.

Another case in point, exercise.  The experts say that exercise gives us energy, wakes us up.  Maybe for you it does, but not me.

Ever since I was a teenager (ages ago) I’ve preferred to exercise before bed.  It helps me sleep.  In fact, if I wake up during the night, worried about something I can’t change, I will get up and exercise, climb back into bed and I’m asleep in minutes.

This doesn’t work for everyone, but then again we’re not all the same.

My point being, if you’re struggling with a health issue, don’t be afraid to at least do some research.  Perhaps ask around forums to get feed back from others with similar issues and you might find some solutions.  For anything life threatening please consult your doctor.

And doctors, bless their educated hearts, have a tendency to stick with tried and true methodology, but we are not all the same.

Be accountable for your body, your mind and your soul and who knows, maybe you’ll feel better tomorrow.

 

 

Tagged with: , , , ,
Posted in health

Leave a Reply

