Our aging, fragile finger nails.

nails-865121__180

“As we get older, it shows in our nails.”  That’s what the dermatologist said.  Before I had weak, splitting, cracking nails I had no idea that a dermatologist is the doctor who cares for nails!  Who knew?!

I thought I should share the information the good doctor gave, ya know, in case I’m not the only one who’s nails are starting to look like hell because of age.

It really boils down to just a few key factors and they are:

  • Eat healthy and be sure you are getting enough calcium.
  • Stop using nails as keys, mini knives or flathead screwdrivers.
  • Don’t bite them.
  • It’s ok to gently file down any ridges that are a nuisance.
  • Try supplements for nails if you aren’t getting proper nutrition.
  • Rub salve on the cuticles two times a day.  Rubbing the salve helps stimulate growth and helps hydrate dry, brittle nails.
  • Nail polishes and remover can dry out nails, so do your research before buying.

Yes, I have stopped using my nails as utility tools and that really helps.

Yes, I now eat a nail and hair supplement. I think it helps, but maybe I’m just being optimistic.

Yes, occasionally I buff the ridges off my nails, it also makes them shiny (bonus), but I think it makes them weaker.

The best tip of all is the salve.  Hands down.  🙂  It sits on my night stand as a reminder to love my nails as much as any other body part.

To sum it all up, as we get older every body part needs some extra love and care, even finger and toe nails.

As a bonus, healthy nails are symbolic of youth, just that I should throw that in.

 

Tagged with: , , , , , , ,
Posted in health

Leave a Reply

